Derby Prep Primer: Fountain of Youth Stakes

By Margaret Ransom

Gulfstream Park – Photo courtesy of

The Spanish explorer Juan Ponce de Leon set out in the 1500s in search of a mythical fountain which was believed to be located in the southeastern part of the North American continent and which gave all who drank from it eternal youth.

Gulfstream Park named a race in honor of the mythical tale and now in its 78th running, the Fasig-Tipton Fountain of Youth Stakes (G2) has become a key stop on the road to the Kentucky Derby (G1).

Five Fountain of Youth winners have gone on to win the Derby –Tim Tam (1958), Kauai King (1966), Spectacular Bid (1979), Thunder Gulch (1995), and Orb (2013). Five others ran in the Fountain of Youth but didn’t win before wearing the garland of roses — Iron Liege (1957), Pleasant Colony (1981), Swale (1984), Unbridled (1990), and Go for Gin (1994).

Fourteen horses have completed the Fountain of Youth–Florida Derby double, the most recent being Orb in 2013. He is also one of four to complete the Fountain of Youth-Florida Derby-Kentucky Derby hat trick. The other three are Tim Tam (1958), Spectacular Bid (1979) and Thunder Gulch (1995).

Some other famous names pulled from the winner’s list throughout its history include In Reality, Al Hattab, Shecky Greene, Darn That Alarm, Vicar, Songandaprayer, Mohaymen and Gunnevera.

The race was not run in three years – 1946, 1948 and 1952, but in 1983, 1986 and 1993 the race was split and run in two divisions. In 1947 it was run twice — early in the year for 3-year-olds and again late in the year for 2-year-olds.

The race has three records for a final time because it has been run at three distances since its inception — 1 mile in 1:35.01 (2009, Quality Road); 1 1/16 miles in 1:41 (1978, Sensitive Prince); and 1 1/8 miles in 1:48.87 (2010, Eskendereya). In 2012, Gulfstream added a second finish line so the Fountain of Youth and other dirt races could be contested at 1 1/16 miles.

Todd Pletcher and Hall of Famer D. Wayne Lukas have both saddled three winners each. Pletcher sent out Scat Daddy (2007), Eskendereya (2010) and Itsaknockout (2012), the latter finishing second before being elevated to the victory following the disqualification of the actual winner, Upstart. Lukas saddled Dance Floor (1992), Thunder Gulch (1995) and High Yield (2000).

Last year, Hall of Fame jockey John Velazquez was aboard Code of Honor to pick up his fifth career win and take a one-race lead in number of Fountain of Youth wins over retired Hall of Famer Jerry Bailey. He also rode Scat Daddy (2007), Quality Road (2009), Eskendereya (2010) and Orb (2013).

With Derby qualifying points of 50-20-10-5, a field of 12 will line up to race the 1 1/16 miles, the lion’s share of the $400,000 pot just icing on the cake.

Saturday’s weather will be cool and pleasant, with partly cloudy skies and highs around 70. Expect fast and firm conditions all day. A total of 14 races have been carded of which nine are graded stakes. The Fountain of Youth is the 14th race with a post time of 6:04 p.m. ET.

The field, by post position with jockey, trainer, odds, breeding:

Derby Prep Primer: Fountain of Youth Stakes

PP Horse Jockey Trainer Odds Breeding
1 Candy Tycoon M. Franco T. Pletcher 15-1 Twirling Candy—Liberty’s Lyric, by Unbridled’s Song
2 Makabim M. Vasquez D. Hurtak 50-1 Tapizar—Smart Typical, by Kodiak Kowboy
3 Masterday C. Torres G. Zerpa 30-1 New Year’s Day—Ferdie’s Gal, by Fast Ferdie
4 The Falcon M. Meneses A. Quartarolo 50-1 Union Rags—Penumbra, by Malibu Moon
5 Dennis’ Moment F. Prat D. Romans 2-1 Tiznow—Transplendid, by Elusive Quality
6 As Seen On Tv P. Lopez K. Breen 9-2 Lookin At Lucky—Untamed Passion, by Pulpit
7 Country Grammer J. Castellano C. Brown 15-1 Tonalist–Arabian Song, by Forestry
8 Gear Jockey J. Leparoux G. Arnold II 20-1 Twirling Candy—Switching Gears, by Tapit
9 Liam’s Lucky Charm E. Zayas R. Nicks 15-1 Khozan—P. S. I Love You, by Stormy Atlantic
10 Shotski J. Velazquez J. O’Dwyer 10-1 Blame—She Cat, by Bluegrass Cat
11 Ete Indien F. Geroux P. Biancone 8-1 Summer Front—East India, by Mizzen Mast
12 Chance It T. Gaffalione S. Joseph 7-2 Currency Swap—Vagabon Diva, by Pleasantly Perfect