Kentucky Prep Primer: Florida Derby Race Preview and Stats

Kentucky Prep Primer: Florida Derby Race Preview and Stats

Horse Racing – Photo Credit: Jordan Thomson

This year marks the 69th running of the Florida Derby (G1), the Sunshine State’s major prep for the Kentucky Derby (G1), which is now set to be held in five months at Churchill Downs because of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Major props to Gulfstream Park for fighting to stay open in this upside-down world and giving the South Florida racetrack community and racing fans a sense of normalcy while caring for our most precious asset. And for the first time this year, the race is sponsored by a horse, two-time Horse of the Year Curlin, who stands at Hill ‘n’ Dale Farms in Lexington, Kentucky.

This year, the nine-furlong race offers a purse of $750,000, down from $1 million a year ago and for the first time since 2010 to help boost local overnight purses and keep racing going.

More importantly, however, the race offers Road to the Derby qualifying points on a scale of 100-40-20-10 to the top four finishers, which guarantees the winner, and quite probably the runner-up, a spot in the starting gate under the Twin Spires.

Since it was first contested in 1952, the Florida Derby has consistently drawn what amounts to the best sophomores with Derby aspirations in training on the East Coast.

Florida Derby Winners

Fourteen Florida Derby winners also won in Kentucky:

  • Needles (1956)
  • Tim Tam (1958)
  • Carry Back (1961)
  • Northern Dancer (1964)
  • Spectacular Bid (1979)
  • Swale (1984)
  • Unbridled (1990)
  • Thunder Gulch (1995)
  • Monarchos (2001), Barbaro (2006)
  • Big Brown (2008)
  • Orb (2013)
  • Nyquist (2016)
  • Always Dreaming (2017)

Two more would be on that list had they not been disqualified in Kentucky – Dancer’s Image for a post-race medication positive in 1968 and Maximum Security for his right turn at the quarter pole last year.

Additionally, a number of other Florida Derby winners went on to win the Preakness and/or Belmont Stakes. And since 2000 alone, the Florida Derby has produced six Kentucky Derby winners, the most for any of the major preps despite the fact that it hasn’t had the most starters in Louisville.

A year ago, Maximum Security burst onto the racing scene with his dominant 3 ½-length Florida Derby win before taking all of us on the wildest, wackiest ride starting with his Kentucky Derby win and then disqualification, a scary bout of colic, a trip to the Middle East to win the inaugural $20 million Saudi Cup and the subsequent indictment and arrest of his trainer for allegedly drugging him, as well as several of his stablemates. He may eventually be considered the most well-known Florida Derby winner but unfortunately not for his racing record.

Top Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Todd Pletcher has saddled five Florida Derby winners to lead all trainers:

  • 2007 – Scat Daddy
  • 2014 – Constitution
  • 2015 – Materiality
  • 2017 – Always Dreaming
  • 2018 – Audible

Top Jockey: John Velazquez

Hall of Famer John Velazquez has ridden five to be the top jockey:

  • 2009 – Quality Road
  • 2013 – Orb
  • 2015 – Materiality
  • 2017 – Always Dreaming
  • 2018 – Audible

Three of those victories coming aboard Pletcher’s horses. The old Calumet Farm regime of Gene and Lucille Markey remain the stakes race’s top owners, having their devil’s red and blue silks worn by five runners.

Names of past Florida Derby winners even the casual racing fan would recognize include Nashua, Carry Back, In Reality, Honest Pleasure, Alydar, Snow Chief, Holy Bull, Unbridled’s Song, Monarchos and Empire Maker.

Twelve are expected to head postward in the day’s feature, which has been carded as the 14th with a post time of 6:36 p.m. ET. The weather in Hallandale Beach is supposed to be warm and about 80 under partly cloudy skies, so a fast track is probable all day.

Florida Derby: Field of Runners

PP Horse Jockey Trainer Odds Pedigree
1 As Seen On TV P. Lopez K. Breen 12-1 Lookin At Lucky—Untamed Passion, by Pulpit
2 Shivaree E. Jaramillo R. Nicks 30-1 Awesome of Course—Garter Belt, by Anasheed
3 Disc Jockey T. Gaffalione S. Joseph, Jr. 20-1 Bodemeister—Cup o’ Luck, by Borrego
4 Soros E. Prado G. Delgado 30-1 Commissioner—Eastern Ruckus, by Eastern Echo
5 Gouverneur Morris J. Velazquez T. Pletcher 8-1 Constitution—Addison Run, by Unbridled’s Song
6 Ajaaweed L. Saez K. McLaughlin 20-1 Curlin—Asiya, by Daaher
7 Tiz the Law M. Franco B. Tagg 6-5 Constitution—Tizfiz, by Tiznow
8 My First Grammy H. Berrios A. Sanchez 50-1 Curlin—Tabulation, by Giant’s Causeway
9 Independence Hall J. Rosario M. Trombetta 9-2 Constitution—Kalahari Cat, by Cape Town
10 Candy Tycoon J. Castellano T. Pletcher 20-1 Twirling Candy–Liberty’s Lyric, by Unbridled’s Song
11 Sassy But Smart J. Bravo K. Condie 50-1 Overdriven—Home Run Sassy, by Unbridled America
12 Ete Indien F. Geroux P. Biancone 4-1 Summer Front—East India, by Mizzen Mast
13 (ae) Rogue Element M. Vasquez D. Romans NL Honor Code—Sweet Success, by Candy Ride

If you enjoyed this Florida Derby Primer piece, check out other amazing articles at our horse racing news section!