The Only Undefeated Horse in 2020 Derby

Kentucky Derby Horse: SHIRL’S SPEIGHT

By Ed McNamara

Meet the only undefeated horse in Derby 146.

The downside is Shirl’s Speight has run only twice, on turf and synthetic, and debuted July 4. An optimist would say he’s an inexperienced version of Animal Kingdom, hero of the 2011 Derby in his first start on dirt.

A realist would say he belongs in an allowance race. He’s also by sprint influence Speightstown, making 1 1/4 miles a tough go. Might inject juice into the pace, but that’s about all you can expect.

Was granted entry into the field when it became clear less than 20 (a full field) 3-year-olds on the Derby-qualifying leaderboard would be entered.

Colt has been training on dirt in August, most recently working a mile in 1:39.20 at Woodbine on Aug. 21.

Profiles will be updated with morning-line odds and post position after the field is drawn on Tuesday, Sept. 1.


Odds: TBD

Post position: TBD

Jockey: Corey Lanerie

Trainer: Roger Attfield

Owner: Charles Fipke

Career record: 2-2-0-0

Career earnings: $86,693

Top Equibase speed figure: 97

Kentucky Derby points: 0

Pedigree: Speightstown-Perfect Shirl, by Perfect Soul

Color: Bay

Running style: Front-runner

Notes: This would be Corey Lanerie’s fifth Derby; he was 15th on Promises Fulfilled in 2018, second (behind Always Dreaming) aboard Lookin At Lee in

2017; eighth with Mo Tom in 2016; and 16th with Harry’s Holiday in 2014 … Roger Attfield has saddled one previous Derby starter, Takin Man (12th in 1995) … Canadian diamond mogul Charles Fipke has owned three previous Derby starters: Anak Nakal (seventh in 2008); and Golden Soul (second) and Java’s War (13th), both in 2013.

(USRacing’s Kentucky Derby will include profiles of the horses listed as probable for the race on Saturday, Sept. 5. Each day until the post-position draw on Tuesday, Sept. 1, USRacing will publish selected profiles of the contenders.)

2020 Kentucky Derby

Horse Trainers Jockey
Tiz the Law Barclay Tagg Manny Franco
Authentic Bob Baffert John Velazquez
Art Collector Tom Drury Brian Hernandez, Jr.
Honor A.P. John Sherriffs Mike Smith
Ny Traffic Saffie Joseph, Jr Paco Lopez
King Guillermo Juan Carlos Avilla Samy Camacho
Thousand Words Bob Baffert Florent Geroux
Dr Post Todd Pletcher TBD
Max Player Steve Asmussen Ricardo Santana, Jr.
Caracaro Gustavo Delgado Javier Castellano
Enforceable Mark Casse Adam Beschizza
Rushie Michael McCarthy TBD
Major Fed Greg Foley James Graham
Storm the Court Peter Eurton Julien Leparoux
Attachment Rate Dale Romans Joe Talamo
Sole Volante Patrick Biancone Luca Panici
Finnick the Fierce Rey Hernandez Martin Garcia
Winning Impression Dallas Stewart Joe Rocco, Jr.
Necker Island Chris Hartman Miguel Mena
Shirl’s Speight Roger Attfield Corey Lanerie