Find out Which Horse will Win the 2020 Belmont Stakes

Belmont Park Entries, Horses, Odds, and Picks:

PP Horse Odds Jockey Trainer
1 Tap It To Win 6-1 John R. Velazquez Mark E. Casse
2 Sole Volante 9-2 Luca Panici Patrick L. Biancone
3 Max Player 15-1 Joel Rosario Linda Rice
4 Modernist 15-1 Junior Alvarado William I. Mott
5 Farmington Road 15-1 Javier Castellano Todd A. Pletcher
6 Fore Left 30-1 Jose Ortiz Doug O’Neill
7 Jungle Runner 50-1 Reylu Gutierrez Steven M. Asmussen
8 Tiz The Law 6-5 Manny Franco Barclay Tagg
9 Dr Post 5-1 Irad Ortiz, Jr. Todd A. Pletcher
10 Pneumatic 8-1 Ricardo Santana, Jr. Steven M. Asmussen

This year, Linda Rice is the only woman to participate in the Belmont Stakes today. It is her second career Belmont Stakes starter as she saddled Supervisor to a fifth-place finish in 2003.

Max Player

Linda Rice’s Max Player – Photo Courtesy of Chelsea Durand/NYRA

Overall, ten women have trained Belmont Stakes runners — Sarah Lundy (Minstrel Star, 11th, 1984); Patricia Johnson (Fast Account, 4th, 1985); Dianne Carpenter (Kingpost, 2nd, 1988); Shelley Riley (Casual Lies, 5th, 1992); Cynthia Reese (In Contention, 9th, 1996); Nancy Alberts (Magic Wesiner, 4th, 2002); Jennifer Pedersen (Artax Too, 11th, 2002); Linda Rice (Supervisor, 5th, 2003); Alexis Barba (Make Music for Me, placed 9th via DQ, 2010); Kathy Ritvo (Mucho Macho Man, 7th, 2011).

Belmont Stakes Winner:

Hall of Fame jockey Julie Krone remains the only female rider to have captured a Belmont Stakes, or any Triple Crown race at all, when she guided Colonial Affair to the victory in 1993.

Krone also was aboard Subordinated Debt (9th, 1991); Colony Light (6th, 1992); Star Standard (2nd, 1995), and South Salem (eased, 1996). In 2012, Rosie Napravnik became the second woman to ride in the Belmont, finishing fifth aboard Five Sixteen. In 2013, Napravnik finished sixth aboard the filly Unlimited Budget and in 2014 was seventh on General a Rod.

In the 151 previous runnings of the Belmont Stakes, there have been only 23 fillies that have competed in the event with three winners – Ruthless, Tanya and Rags to Riches (2007).

Other female runners over history are: Fanny Ludlow (1868, 3rd);  Invercauld (1869, 3rd); Viola, (7th, 1869); Midday (1870, 3rd), Nellie James (1970, 4th); Stamps (1870, 6th); Nellie Gray (1871, 4th); Mary Clark (1871, 9th); Miss Palmer (1885, 9th); Funders (1905, 7th); Flying Fairy (1913, 3rd); Miss Smith (1923, 8th); Flambino (1927, 3rd); Laughing Queen (1932, 10th); Riverina (1954, 7th) Genuine Risk (1980, 2nd); Winning Colors (1988, 6th); My Flag (1996, 3rd); Silverbulletday (1999, 7th); Unlimited Budget (2013, 6th).

In 2011, Ruler On Ice became the second gelding to win the Belmont Stakes, joining Creme Fraiche, who became the first to do so in 1985. Geldings were allowed to compete in the race from its inaugural running in 1867 to 1918, and even received a three-pound weight allowance. After 1918, however, they were banned from entering the race until 1957. Funny Cide, a New York-bred gelding, failed to win the Triple Crown when he finished third behind Empire Maker in 2003.